You’re Not So Different From Your Car

The Underground Writer

Unlike an aged cheddar or bottle of Balvenie, people and automobiles generally don’t improve with age. As my husband once said after visiting my great aunt in a nursing home, 

“There is nothing glamorous about growing old.”

While attending graduate school, I drove an ancient Honda Accord that was held together by a lot of prayer and encouragement. The cassette player would run even when the car was turned off. Rain would get trapped in the moonroof and proceed to gush onto my lap when I put the car in reverse – soaking me to the point where I would have to go inside and change. It also seemed that as soon as I had one of its parts replaced, another would decide to break.

How I hated phone calls from my mechanic! As soon as the phone would ring I would squeeze my eyes shut and brace myself. He always started…

View original post 410 more words

4 thoughts on “You’re Not So Different From Your Car

  1. So very true. You definitely covered it all. Now my question is.. Do I ride my body until the wheels fall off or try to keep up with the maintenance and preserve hehe.

Leave a Reply

