The Truth About Shakespeare

The Underground Writer

Yesterday was William Shakespeare’s birthday. I confess, I am not one who enjoys Shakespeare’s works. When I read Macbeth, Romeo and Juliet and Taming of the Shrew in high school, I had to borrow the equivalent of “Shakespeare for Dummies” from the library just so I could understand what I was reading. When I hear that he is considered one of the most prolific authors in history, I can’t help but furrow my brow and think, “Really? Him? I just don’t get it.”

Perhaps it is ignorance (or lack of culture) on my part. I want to like Shakespeare. Truly, I do. I would love to understand his sonnets and swoon over them. But the whole “doth” “thou” “mayst” “oft” “thy” parts throw me for a loop. Did they really speak that way back then? Or did they talk like we do now, and just wrote like that? Maybe he wasn’t the romantic that scholars claim he was…

View original post 453 more words

6 thoughts on “The Truth About Shakespeare

  1. Why would you furrow your brow at Shakespeare being prolific? Picasso was prolific and so were The Beatles. It’s hardly the truth about Shakespeare if you’re unable to dustinguish between prolific and populairty.

  2. Besides, Shakespeare had a ghost writer. Sir Francis Bacon was the guy behind all of that middle English quill & scroll swill that we were forced to read back in the day. And the Beatles? What in the hell do they have to do with anything?

  3. What the? Okay, not even gonna comment on that comment. But loved your response. Always nice to see one of my amazing faves again – – and as i recall this gave me a chance to make a bonafide request that was oh so gratifyingly fulfilled!!

Leave a Reply

