Do I Know You?

You notice him in the checkout lane at the grocery store. He looks vaguely familiar. His hairstyle is one you know you could never forget. Did you sit next to him at last week’s board meeting? Or was he your waiter at that French restaurant you took your mom to for her birthday? Wait. You went to high school with him! No. That’s not it. Was he the guy from Sears who sold you the leaf blower you still haven’t used?

He has now noticed you’re staring at him and is looking at you out of the corner of his eye. You can’t tell if he also recognizes you, or he is slightly concerned that you’re watching him. You start rearranging the groceries in your cart while frantically trying to place his face. Is he the father of one of your daughter’s friends? Should you know this person?

Suddenly it dawns on you. You don’t know this person at all! He simply resembles Lord Farquaad from Shrek – just taller. You exhale, relieved the mystery is solved.

How often have we seen someone who looks familiar, only to realize they’re not someone we know, but rather they resemble a character from a cartoon or movie? Recently while I was in the waiting room of my doctor’s office, a patient sat down and removed his shoes. The fact that this man felt the immediate need to take off his footwear didn’t bother me nearly as much as the fact there was something strangely familiar about his face. I was certain I had seen it before, but where? All at once I realized he looked exactly like Lew Zealand. Who is Lew Zealand? The Muppet who throws the boomerang fish while proclaiming, “I throw the fish away, and they come back to me!”

LewZealand_Large

“I love taking off my shoes in public places!”

There is also a man who frequents the gym I go to who looks exactly like Lloyd Christmas, the character Jim Carey played in Dumb and Dumber. Making this connection took several minutes, and unfortunately my glancing at the man while trying to place him resulted in him attempting to make friendly conversation.

image

“Don’t know why that girl keeps looking at me. Must be my bowl haircut. I better go talk to her.”

 

And who would have ever thought I would come home to find Miracle Max, from The Princess Bride, in my living room? Well, it wasn’t the real Miracle Max. Just an ancient locksmith who looked exactly like him. As I entered through our back door I could hear Miracle Max (also known as Lucas Locksmith, Inc) saying to my husband,

“There. Now that the deadbolt is fixed, you can lock the wife out!”

I burst into the living room and shouted,

“Aha! No he can’t! The door to the back still works!”

Shockingly, I found myself staring into this face:

Miracle Max

“There! Now you can lock your wife out!”

Perhaps we look like a character in a cartoon or movie, but people are polite enough not to tell us. For all I know, after I meet someone for the first time, the person could be thinking,

“Where have I seen her before? I could never forget a face like that…”

edward-scissorhands

“Was she at the last PTA meeting? Or maybe she works at the car wash …”

 

 

Photo Credits:

Lew Zealand – http://www.muppet.wikia.com

Miracle Max – http://www.fanpop.com

Edward Scissorhands – CBS

10 thoughts on “Do I Know You?

  1. If I had a dollar for every time I flat out found myself staring at some poor individual with mouth open and thinking I knew them…then tried to cover the goofy grin on my face when I realized they only looked like Archie Bunker, Roseanne Bar or some other equally famouse face! Embarrassing but funny! Thanks for the laugh!

  2. Ha! Very enjoyable reading! I kept staring at a man at my daughter’s school performance and finally leaned over to ask, “Do you ever get told you look like Dustin Hoffman?” Not only did he say no (impossible, he was a dead ringer!) but he was highly insulted! I spent the next few minutes and even some of intermission explaining that I actually had a crush on Dustin Hoffman and that he wasn’t nearly as short, it was just facial resemblance. When he said, “Oh?? NEARLY as short???” I knew it was time to shut up.

  3. Ha! Such a great post! My husband and I were out for burgers and beers one night and saw the strangest looking little kid…it took us both a few minutes to realize she looked remarkably like Woody Harrelson.

Leave a Reply

